St Peter's Church, Blaenafon, Monmouthshire
Dedication: St Peter
History: Local iron-masters Samuel Hopkins and Thomas Hill built St Peter's church in 1804 and donated it to the parish, along with land for the graveyard and proceeds from a nearby farm to provide the minister's salary. The church was consecrated in June 1805. Its original charter banned Quakers, of whom there was a strong community in nearby Brynmawr. Being located in an 'iron' town, it was natural that Blaenafon's church would feature much cast iron in its construction—the door and window frames, etc. But St Peter's also has a cast iron font, thought to be unique, and cast iron tombstone covers.
Photography: John Ball
Date: 14 May 2000
Camera: Sigma SA-300 35 mm SLR