Capel-y-groes, Cilycwm, Carmarthenshire
The chapel was opened on 8 March 1860 (inscription on clock). Built in the Simple Gothic style, gable entry type.
[From: Coflein website]
The first service by Independents in the village was held around 1852. When the number of members increased to 60 following the 1859 revival, they decided to build a chapel on land given by Edward Pryce Lloyd, Glansefin, on a 99-year lease. In 1872 the property was bought by W.H. Campbell Davys. The chapel is unique in that everything is exactly the same now as when the chapel was built in 1859. The pews are narrow and may be uncomfortable, but this has the advantage of keeping congregations awake!
[From: Cilycwm Community Website]
Photography: John Ball
Date: 27 August 1998
Camera: Agfa ePhoto307 digital